Timeline

About Timeline

Use this browse and search page to trace the history of Dickinson College.

Search Timeline

Browse Timeline

Mon., Jun. 26, 1882 Annual Oratorical Prize Contest 1882
Thu., Jun. 29, 1882 1882 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 28, 1883 1883 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 28, 1883 Samuel Jackson Randall Receives Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 28, 1883 Richard Watson Gilder Receives Honorary Degree
Mon., Jun. 23, 1884 Annual Oratorical Prize Contest 1884
Thu., Jun. 26, 1884 1884 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 26, 1884 Robert Emory Pattison Receives Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 26, 1884 Robert Newton Baer '58 Receives Honorary Degree
Mon., Jun. 22, 1885 Annual Oratorical Contest 1885
Thu., Jun. 25, 1885 John Franklin Goucher '68 Receives First Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 25, 1885 1885 Commencement
Sat., Nov. 14, 1885 Dickinson Football Plays Their First Game
Wed., Nov. 18, 1885 Dickinson Football Bests Harrisburg C.C. in Blowout Win
Thu., Jun. 24, 1886 1886 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 24, 1886 Abraham Wehrley Rudisill '70 Receives Honorary Degree
Sat., Oct. 16, 1886 Red Devil Football Shut-Out by Lehigh
Mon., Oct. 18, 1886 Dickinson Football Falls to Lafayette 24-5
Sat., Oct. 23, 1886 E. Herbert Garrison Dies in Red Devil Football Loss to Swarthmore
Thu., Jun. 30, 1887 1887 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 30, 1887 William Lambert Gooding '74 Receives Honorary Degree
Wed., Oct. 12, 1887 Dickinson Football Drops a Tough 12-0 Decision to Lafayette
Sat., Oct. 22, 1887 Dickinson Football's Unlucky Stretch Continues vs. Lehigh
Sat., Nov. 12, 1887 Dickinson Football Falls to Swarthmore on the Road, 22-6
Fri., Mar. 2, 1888 Glee Club Performs
Mon., Jun. 25, 1888 Annual Oratorical Contest 1888
Thu., Jun. 28, 1888 1888 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 28, 1888 James William Marshall '48 Receives Honorary Degree
Fri., Nov. 2, 1888 Red Devil Football Team Opens 1888 Season in Road Loss to Bucknell
Sat., Nov. 3, 1888 Future Looking Brighter as Dickinson Football Ties Penn State
Wed., Nov. 7, 1888 Red Devil Football Picks Up Huge Win Over Penn State in 1888 Season Finale
Mon., Jun. 24, 1889 Annual Oratorical Contest 1889
Thu., Jun. 27, 1889 1889 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 27, 1889 James Addams Beaver Receives Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 27, 1889 James Fowler Rusling '54 Receives Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 27, 1889 Stewart Lyndon Woodford Receives Honorary Degree
Fri., Oct. 11, 1889 Red Devil Football Team Opens 1889 Campaign with Victory Over Bucknell
Sat., Oct. 19, 1889 Dickinson Football Ousts Swarthmore in Controversial Victory
Wed., Oct. 30, 1889 Dickinson Football Trumps Future Rival F&M 10-0
Sat., Nov 2, 1889 Dickinson Football Improves to 4-0 with Beatdown of Haverford
Sat., Nov. 9, 1889 Dickinson Football Remains Undefeated in Rainy Annapolis
Thu., Nov. 28, 1889 F&M Ruins Red Devil Football Undefeated Season
Fri., Feb. 14, 1890 Glee Club Performs
Mon., Jun. 16, 1890 Annual Oratorical Contest 1890
Thu., Jun. 19, 1890 1890 Commencement
Thu., Jun. 19, 1890 Thomas May Peirce Receives Honorary Degree
Thu., Jun. 19, 1890 Nathaniel Barratt Smithers '40 Receives Honorary Degree
Wed., Oct. 1, 1890 Former Captain Willard G. Lake Returns as Football Coach in Unfortunate Fashion vs. Lafayette
Fri., Oct. 17, 1890 Dickinson Football Blanked by Bucknell in First Game at New Field
Sat., Oct. 25, 1890 Red Devil Football Picks Up First Win of 1890 Season Over Swarthmore

Pages